Going fwd to go bkwd.

Thinkenn

Reaction score
This is going to be a read.. Its my first post, and somewhat of an explination and update all wrapped into one.

Rather then tout prowess, I thought I would just go right into it and lay it down promptly. I've hit a brick wall with this. I am brand new to the forum, I love my Chevy. I tried to fix it, I need some help getting it over the last bump. I'll get right to it. My name is Kenn, I am a 2nd year HD mechanic apprentice, truck driver, and father. I have a busy mind and a mechanical heart. I love my truck.. GM's will forever have me as a dedicated believer.

I've owned my 2000 Silverado 1500 since April 2014. Indigo blue metallic, grey interior, tool box, bed cover, stock right to the lug-nuts. 5.3L Vortec bolted to a 4L60-e automatic. NP8 t-case. 4:10 ratio on 245/75/r16's. I bought it for $1000.00 (saved it from the crusher pretty much) and it was in rough shape. Both rockers were rotted out from farmer running boards on it. Fender lips were rotted thru, all 4. The underside looked like it was subjected to a warm acid bath. CARFAX checked out however and it had no liens, or money owed. It had never been twisted, or modified in any way. 325 000 kms on the chassis. 2 owners. Dealer built stock item, not a owner build. Plain Jane but severely neglected.

Mechanically, The 4wd was in operable when I got it. Sensors worked and no codes unless the 'auto 4wd' button was selected, later determined that the 'auto4wd' clutch pack had been murdered to nothing. Wrong oil in the t-case, and it burnt up. It had a GM10 bolt 4:10 open rear end which at some point a new (er) crown and pinion had been installed. However not a matched set, and it wasn't set up correctly (howl), way over .08 play (.167). Worn cross-pin etc. Clunk into gear.. clunk into reverse...yeah. Expected.