Light bar mounting

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
I have a 20 inch light bar that I want to mount somewhere on my truck.

I would like to mount it behind the grill but with the trans cooler there isn't much room.

What's some of you ideas?
 

squeaky3

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
142
Reaction score
0
Location
Pontiac Il
Here is how I have my 20" bar behind the grill on my 06

I would suggest adding some more support to the factory bracket because I broke mine and had to weld and ziptie it until I get around to building some more supports





 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
Well discussion over. squeaky3 has just showed me what I was trying to think of for 3 days now haha.

I never even thought of mounting the brackets like that.

I might just preempt the factory bracket by making a new one from the start out of square stock.

Thanks again for the pics. It doesn't hit the grill or anything?
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
I tried mounting it in the same spot as pictured, the grill on the 99-02 comes into the space too much.

So I am mounting it above the trans cooler.

Still pretty easy and looks better than my alternative of the bumper.
 

squeaky3

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
142
Reaction score
0
Location
Pontiac Il
Ya didnt think if it would work on any other body style other than the the 03-07c trucks.

My way works but it needs a little more bracing to make it work a little better
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
with the mounts I made its not going anywhere haha.

It's mounted to the bar that goes in between the frame under the radiator. It's built from stainless steel plate and 1/2 inch stainless round bar haha.

Way over kill but I wanted to strong.
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
It's all mounted. Just have to wire it up. Here's some grill off shots.
13c1c6779bc413a55e3bf042856b25b8.jpg
3ef67514a59133eff0a6ea87e2b0f188.jpg
ac454b52221f750dc6fe79fc51b80704.jpg
4d7c003b727bc9a07fb71676223aa2f2.jpg
25e58ee1cb6b1062e50cab29d5ccf394.jpg
 

squeaky3

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
142
Reaction score
0
Location
Pontiac Il
I have the same switch in the same spot. I found the led in it to be a little too bright while driving at night and ended up putting a piece of gorilla tape over the led for now. I keep forgetting to get a marker or light paint on light to dim it down some.

My dash already had a switch that was bad in the same spot from old plow wiring to i just popped in a new switch
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
I was kind of hoping that the led would only be on when the switch is on, but it's on all the time.

The way I have my steering wheel positioned, the multi switch blocks the switch from my line of sight. Unless of course I look at it haha.

I wonder it you just took a sharpie marker and colored the dot like you were saying would dim it down enough.

I was going to put the switch where the home link would go in the overhead console, but I didn't feel like running the wires up there and it would be a pain to flick off quickly
 

Bonecollector

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
818
Reaction score
0
Location
'BERTA
Nail polish would work on the LED also, a little bit more durable too


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
I'm thinking that I just have the power into the switch plugged onto the wrong terminal. Since the led gets power from the center pin, and that's where I have my power in, it's always on.

So if I make the center pin hot only when the switch is on by swapping the bottom and center wires, it should work right.
 

squeaky3

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
142
Reaction score
0
Location
Pontiac Il
I would have to look at it again, but should have one hot wire coming into switch should be source on the switch, then the output(lightbar) would be the load and then the last pin should just be a ground I believe.
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
Yup I got it going right.

Looking at it with the gold pin on the top,
The bottom pin should be power in to the switch
The center pin is power out
The top pin is ground for the led

I had the bottom and center pins switched so the led was just feeding off the power into the switch
 

19trax95

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Eastern PA
I actually made those.

They are some black housings that I retrofit with a set of hid projectors.
 

bigcountry78

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
1
Location
N.C.
Looks good but please do everyone a favor and don't run it on the road. I met a truck yesterday about dusk, and his killed my eyes. But he was also driving a ford so there's that.
 

CHEVROLET34

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
What size is the brackets you made. I just need to know measurements because I'm trying to do the same thing but make my own brackets
 

Latest posts

Members online

Top