MAF sensor connected to transmission?

Discussion in 'Transmission & Transfer Case' started by burgundybeast04, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. burgundybeast04

    burgundybeast04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    'BERTA
    Just wondering, how big of a role does my MAF sensor play with my transmission? I know my sensor is dirty and my truck is showing symptoms of it sometimes. On occasion my truck shifts funny. I don't want to buy a new maf sensor unless I know it will fix the problem. I got a dirty maf sensor from the junk yard to experiment cleaning on before I touch mine. It didn't seem to come very clean though. Is it worth cleaning it? Is there a possibility of me messing anything up?


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  2. 2003tahoe

    2003tahoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Dont touch it with anything go to autozone and buy the maf cleaner about 7.99 for a can and its also gray. I used that stuff on a h3 and it fixed it and ran good after that. And if you touch it the wires can break trust me, my friend made that mistake and had to buy an new one if the cleaner doesnt work you didnt waste much
     
  3. burgundybeast04

    burgundybeast04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    'BERTA
    I have this

    [​IMG]

    And this

    [​IMG]


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  4. 2003tahoe

    2003tahoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    yea pretty much same thing we got crc but diff label just spray that on it and should fix the problem if its just dirty
    Edit: i see why its diff its the canadian version
     
  5. burgundybeast04

    burgundybeast04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    'BERTA
    Yaaaa Canada!!!


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  6. Bonecollector

    Bonecollector Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    'BERTA
    According to fellow Canadians we don't have a truck scene up here.... My house hold owns 3 GMC Sierras and 2 Chevy silverados, don't know where he's from obviously not the same part as canada as me


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  7. 2003tahoe

    2003tahoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    You ever fix it?
     
  8. burgundybeast04

    burgundybeast04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    'BERTA
    Nope haven't touched it, truck stalled on me twice last week haven't really looked in to anything at all, been driving my dads truck for the most part since then, drove mine a few times and every time it seems to run and drive like a dime again so I'm not sure. Thursday it's going to the dealer for an inspection and tune up and any repairs they may find, I told them about the MAF sensor being dirty not sure if they'll touch it. Thinking they're probably not gonna wanna work on it cause my intake isn't stock. will keep you updated


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  9. burgundybeast04

    burgundybeast04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    'BERTA
    Forgot to update this, well my truck went to the dealer for a tranny service and cleaned mad and throttle body. Much better now


    Sent from Team Sierra
     
  10. silverado13

    silverado13 Moderator

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    im not sure about gmt800s but i know for a fact that gmt400s, the mafs and the transmission is on the same circuit, so if could be related
     
  11. 01ssreda4

    01ssreda4 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Mafs tell the computer about engine load. Engine load dictates shift pressures and timing. Quite simple.